Many SPLA Generals fired, New structure in making.

By Juma John Stephen, Gurtong,


Salva Kiir Mayardiit, the incumbent president of South Sudan (Photo: VOA)

JUBA, 22 January 2013 [Nyamilepedia] – South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardit has reshuffled the Sudan People’s Liberation Army (SPLA) dismissing some senior army officers from service and replacing them with new promoted officers, according to a presidential decree broadcasted by the State owned South Sudan Television (SSTV) on Monday night.

The relieved officers from active service and remain on the reserve list until they are re-assigned are:

1. Lt. Gen. Obuto Mamur Mete
2. Lt. Gen. Biar Atem Ajang
3. Lt. Gen. Pieng Deng Kuol
4. Lt. Gen. Ayuen Alier Jongroor
5. Lt. Gen. Wilson Deng Kuoirot
6. Lt. Gen. Kuol Diem Kuol
7. Lt. Gen. Augustino Jadalla Jada
8. Lt. Gen. Elias Waya Nyipouc
9. Lt. Gen. Luis Aliandro Paul
10. Lt. Gen. Dr. Henry Makeny Dhieu
11. Lt. Gen. Dr. Akol Diing Duot

The following have been promoted from Major Generals to Lieutenant Generals:

1. Maj. Gen. Thomas Cirilo Swaka
2. Maj. Gen. James Ajongo Mawut
3. Maj. Gen. Malek Ruben Riak
4. Maj. Gen. Malual Ayom Dor
5. Maj. Gen. Mangar Buong Aluenge
6. Maj. Gen. Chol Thon Balok
7. Maj. Gen. Gabriel Jok Riak
8. Maj. Gen. Johnson Gony Biliu
9. Maj. Gen. Charles Lam Chol
The appointment of Deputy to the SPLA Chief of General Staff 2013 and shall come into force on the date of its signature by the President of the Republic.

1. Lt. Gen. Thomas Cirilo Swaka, Deputy Chief of General Staff for Training
2. Lt. Gen. James Ajongo Mawut ,Deputy Chief of General Staff for Operation
3. Lt. Gen. Malek Ruben Riak, Deputy Chief of General Staff for Logistics
4. Lt. Gen. Malual Ayom Dor, Deputy Chief of General Staff for Administration
5. Lt. Gen. Mangar Buong Aluenge,Deputy Chief of General Staff for Inspection
6. Lt. Gen. Chol Thon Balok, Deputy Chief of General Staff for Morale Orientation
SPLA Sector Commanders

1. Lt. Gen.  Gabriel Jok Riak Sector One Wau
2. Lt. Gen. Johnson Gony Biliu Sector Two Malakal
3. Lt. Gen. Charles Lam Chol Sector Three Torit

The Republican decree No.08/2013 for the removal of SPLA Officers from Active list and put to the Reserve list is an exercise of powers under article 153 (2) of the Transitional Constitution of the Republic of South Sudan 2011.

Together with section 13 (b) of the Sudan People’s Liberation Army Act 2009.

1. Maj. Gen. Peter Bol Koang
2. Maj. Gen. James Yiec Biet
3. Maj. Gen. James Gatduel Gatluak
4. Maj. Gen. Salva Chol Ayat
5. Maj. Gen. Matur Chuot Dhuol
6. Maj. Gen. John Mayiik Jaw
7. Maj. Gen. Andrea Dominic Safer
8. Maj. Gen. Peter Pernyang Daniel
9. Maj. Gen. Dau Aturjong Nyuol
10. Maj. Gen. Bol Akot Bol
11. Maj. Gen. Kitchener Morthan Kolen
12. Maj. Gen. Simon Gatwich Dual
13. Maj. Gen. Samuel Mayiik Machar
14. Maj. Gen. James Othow Along
15. Maj. Gen. Peter Dor Manjur
16. Maj. Gen. John Both tany
17. Maj. Gen. Sadam Chayuot Manyang
18. Maj. Gen. John Macham Atem
19. Maj. Gen. Thomas Tot Bangoang
20. Maj. Gen. Elias Lado Sworo
21. Maj. Gen. Abraham Jok Aring
22. Maj. Gen. Garang Akok Adut
23. Maj. Gen. Garang Bul Pager
24. Maj. Gen. Michael Miakol deng Anyang

Originally published on January 22, 2013.

  2 comments for “Many SPLA Generals fired, New structure in making.

Post a comment or reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: