EAC lawmakers agree to impose sanctions on South Sudan over fee arrears 


The Emblem of the East African Community (File/Supplied/Nyamilepedia)


October 4th 2019 (Nyamilepedia)-During its high-lvel meeting convened in Arusha, Tanzania, the Council of Ministers of the East African Community has adopted a resolution to impose sanctions and ban South Sudan from the regional body’s membership, should it fail to fully meet its obligations, the regional bloc said on Friday.

Following the deliberations, the East African regional bloc, EAC, unanimously agreed to suspend membership of the world’s youngest nation, South Sudan, due to its non-compliance with the terms and conditions provided for in the group’s constitution.

At the moment, South Sudan is being required to fulfill its commitments by paying its pending membership fees, totaling about 27 million US dollars.

In June, the East African Community threatened to suspend Juba over unnecessary delays in speeding up its payment plans. However, the South Sudanese government pleaded with the EAC Council of Ministers, asking for the group to give it more time to pay its pending dues.

According to the EAC Treaty, each member state is required to pay about $ 8 million on an annual basis.

South Sudan, which joined East African countries, on 5 September 2016, is currently facing a serious economic crisis due to the ongoing conflict in the country.

Post a comment or reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: